Elections & Voting

General Election Information (see posted notice below)

Please note that in the March 2020 township election, voters approved two important election changes:

1. Township elections have been moved from March to November to coincide with the national general election.

2. Voting has changed from in-person voting to mail-in ballots for all future elections.

3. The election changes take effect in 2021.

Register to Vote:


Request an Absentee Ballot:


Township Elected Positions

Elected officials for Elgin Township include three supervisors, a clerk, and a treasurer. The length of terms for township supervisors is four years, and both the clerk and treasurer terms are also four years. If you have an interest in being considered as a candidate for an elected position, please contact the Elgin Township Clerk prior to August 16th of the election year.

Elections in Elgin Township are held annually on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November.




1. Beginning in 2022, voters in Elgin Township within Wabasha County will vote entirely by mail in statewide elections as authorized by the township under MN Statutes 204B.45.

2. For 2022 statewide elections, the election dates and the corresponding dates that ballots will be mailed to all registered voters in mail ballot precincts are:

Statewide Primary Election:

August 9, 2022

Ballot Mailing Dates:

June 24 – July 26, 2022

Statewide General Election:

November 8, 2022

Ballot Mailing Dates:

September 23 – October 25, 2022

Each voter registered by July 19, 2022 for the Statewide Primary Election, and/or October 18, 2022 for the Statewide General Election will be mailed a ballot automatically.

3. Eligible voters not pre-registered by the dates noted, or pre-registered voters wishing to receive their ballots at a temporary address may contact the Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office by phone, mail or in person for an absentee ballot application.

4. All ballots may be returned by mail (a postage prepaid return envelope is included when the ballots are mailed), or may be delivered in person, or delivered by designated agent to:

Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office

625 Jefferson Ave

Wabasha MN 55981

Ballots must be received no later than 8:00 p.m. on Election Day in order to be counted. Normal business hours are Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

5. In additional to the normal business hours, extended hours for mail ballot voting are:

Statewide Primary Election:

Saturday, August 6, 2022 from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Monday, August 8, 2022 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Statewide General Election:

Saturday, November 5, 2022 from 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Monday, November 7, 2022 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

6. The polling place for this election will be at :

Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office

625 Jefferson Ave

Wabasha MN 55981

The polls will be open:

Statewide Primary Election:

Tuesday, August 9, 2022 from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Statewide General Election:

Tuesday, November 8, 2022 from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

At least one Omni Ballot will be available at that polling place that permits persons with disabilities to vote privately and independently. Additional equipment will be available that permits any voter to submit their ballot to be automatically checked and corrected for voting errors prior to being cast and counted.

7. All mail ballots will be counted at the Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office after 8:00 p.m. on the respective election dates.

Additional information is available by contacting the Wabasha County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office at (651) 565-4410.

Dated: May 25, 2022

By order of Wabasha County